Banana Peanut Butter and Jelly – Sort of

Here’s a confession.

I am probably the laziest person in the world when it comes to food. I have the taste buds of an elitist and the patience of a McDonald’s customer. I hate waiting for things, and I’d much rather eat something delicious than spend an hour making it. The whole “baking is fun” thing? I don’t get it. It’s the “take it out of the oven and stuff it in your face” part that’s fun! Hence the following snack. It’s a great twist on the sandwich we all grew up with, and somehow the tortilla makes it all work. This is fast becoming one of my go-to snacks, because I always seem to have the four ingredients in stock. It also requires a pathetically small amount of time and no heat whatsoever. If you’re allergic to peanuts, though, now would be a good time to bow out. EpiPen not included.

Here’s what you’ll need: IMG_3251

  • 1 Banana at desired ripeness
  • Jam or jelly, whatever flavor you prefer
  • Peanut butter, creamy or crunchy
  • 1 tortilla, white or wheat
  • A knife

Step 1: Spread jelly over the surface of the tortilla.IMG_3255

Step 2: Spread peanut butter over the jelly. If it looks disgusting, don’t worry. I mean, let’s be real. Most of the things I make look horrible but taste great. Priorities, right?

Step 3: Peel the banana and place it in the center of the tortilla.

Step 4: Wrap the banana in the tortilla, encasing it in all its peanut butter and jelly goodness.

Step 5: Eat up!

Confession number two: like in my previous posts, I was going to include a photo of the finished product. I messed it up. In an effort to be cute, I tried to cut the rolled up snack in half, to show off the yummy combination of peanut butter, jelly, and banana. It didn’t work. My selected knife wasn’t sharp enough and my PBJ roll just kind of fell apart. It was not cute. I probably should have started over, but in typical Marissa fashion, I ate it instead. So, if you’d like beautiful, professionally taken photos of what I was intending to do, head on over here.

More of the easiest snacks ever on the blog next week! (And don’t worry, the snarky sarcasm will probably make an appearance or two, as well.)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

